Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Uproar in West Bengal assembly over attack on ex-minister

The West Bengal Assembly today witnessed uproarious scenes over the attack on All India Forward Bloc leaders in Hoogly district earlier this week. Speaker Biman Banerjee rejected the calling attention moved by AIFB MLA Tajmul Hussain on the attack on AIFB leader and former Left Front minister Naren De and former MLA Ajit Patra on Sunday. When Hussain raised the matter once again during mention hour instead of the one he was allowed, Deputy Speaker Sonali Guha switched off his mike. This led CPI(M) member and Leader of the Opposition Surya Kanta Mishra to raise a point of order demanding a response from ruling Trinamool Congress. Banerjee, who had returned to the House, then said the issue was raised by the same MLA and the LF members had staged a walk out yesterday. The Speaker said the House was perfectly in order and so Mishra's point of order was subsequently rejected. After this, all Left Front members when asked to speak during the mention hour on their individual issues raised the same matter leading to switching off their mikes one-by-one. The Left Front members then shouted slogans inside the House following which it was adjourned for the first half.

No comments: